Shooter's Firearms

and Indoor Range

Illinois Concealed Carry Requirements

ILLINOIS RESIDENTS

The applicant must:

Be at least 21 years of age
Is not prohibited under federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm
Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:

  - A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years
2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years
  - Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification
  - Not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years

Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application 
Successfully complete 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an Illinois State Police (ISP) approved Instructor. For prior training allowed toward this requirement, see our IL CCW FAQ page.
Electronic Copy of your training certificate(s). You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process.
An Illinois State Police User ID and Password
A valid Illinois Driver’s License or State Identification card.
A valid Firearms Owner's Identification (FOID) card unless in the process of getting a valid FOID card.
A head and shoulder electronic photograph taken within the last 30 days. 
Be able to provide the last ten years of residency.
Fingerprints – Electronic fingerprints will expedite your application! Specify to the Live Scan vendor that your fingerprint application is for the Concealed Carry application (ORI = IL920707Z, Purpose Code = CCW).
(NOTE: Applicants will be assigned a transaction control number (TCN) at the time of fingerprinting and will be required to retain that TCN to complete the application.)

$153.53 payable with a credit or debit card or $151.00 payable by electronic check.

NON-RESIDENTS

In accordance with 430 ILCS 66/40 (b), out of state residents may be eligible for an Illinois Concealed Carry License if your state meets the definition of substantially similar training as established by rule. See 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.10.  Further Information concerning the regulations for non-resident applications can be found at 20 Il. Admin. Code 1231.110. Check for the latest information at the Illinois State Police web site for Concealed Carry. Currently only Hawaii, New Mexico, South Carolina, and Virginia have been approved as having substantially similar gun ownership, possession, and carry laws allowing their residents to submit an application for an Illinois Non-Resident CCW permit.

Other requirements if your state meets the substantially similarly definition:

Be at least 21 years of age
Is not prohibited under federal law from possessing or receiving a firearm
Have not been convicted or found guilty in Illinois or any other state of:

A misdemeanor involving the use or threat of physical force or violence to any person within the last 5 years
2 or more violations related to driving while under the influence of alcohol, other drug or drugs, intoxicating compound or compounds, or any combination thereof, within the last 5 years
Not be the subject of a pending arrest warrant, prosecution, or proceeding for an offense or action that could lead to disqualification
Not have been in residential or court-ordered treatment for alcoholism, alcohol detoxification, or drug treatment within the last 5 years

Submit a completed Concealed Carry License application 
Successfully complete 16 hours of Concealed Carry firearms training provided by an Illinois State Police (ISP) approved Instructor.
An electronic copy of a valid concealed carry license from your home state.
Electronic Copy of your training certificate(s). You will be required to upload your electronic certificate during the application process.
A head and shoulder electronic photograph taken within the last 30 days.
An Illinois State Police User ID and password
A Valid Driver’s License or State Identification card.
Be able to provide the last ten years of residency.
A notarized affidavit documenting the applicant’s eligibility under both state and federal laws, the understanding of the laws pertaining to possession and transport of firearms, acknowledgment the applicant is subject to the jurisdiction of the Illinois State Police and the Illinois courts and that the applicant meets the mental health standards in Illinois to obtain a firearm.
$300.00 payable with a credit card, debit card, or electronic check, plus a processing fee.